Because


sung by Jan Peerce, American tenor (b. 1904)


sung by Eugene Conley, American tenor (b. 1908)


sung by Leonard Warren, American baritone (b. 1911)


sung by Mario Lanza, American tenor (b. 1921)


sung by Deanna Durbin, Canadian soprano (b. 1921)

Because
music by Guy d’Hardelot
lyrics by Edward Teschemacher
1902

Because, you come to me,
with naught save love,
and hold my hand and lift mine eyes above,
a wider world of hope and joy I see,
because you come to me!

Because you speak to me in accents sweet,
I find the roses waking round my feet,
and I am led through tears and joy to thee,
because you speak to me!

Because God made thee mine,
I’ll cherish thee,
through light and darkness through all time to be,
and pray His love may make our love divine,
because God made thee mine!

Phrasing

[ Instrumental prelude:
Be-cause / you come to me /
with naught save lo-ove / ]

Be-cause / you come to me /
with naught save lo-ove /
and hold my hand / and lift mine eyes a-bove /
a wi-der world of hope and joy I see /
be-cause / you come to me /

[ Instrumental:
Be-cause / you come to me /
with naught save lo-ove / ]

Be-cause / you speak to me in ac-cents sweet /
I find the ro-ses wa-king round my feet /
and I am led through tears and joy to thee-ee /
be-cause / you speak to me… /

Be-cause / God made thee mine /
I’ll cher-ish thee-ee /
through light and dark-ness through all time to be /
and pray His love may make our love di-vine /
be-cause / God made thee / mine!

Score:

a308cea9-435e-4d9c-a0bf-0bdbbd65dd26

http://www.musicaneo.com/sheetmusic/sm-73119_because.html

Leave a Reply

