Tea for Two


Sung by unidentified singers, performed by Palace Theater Orchestra

Sung (and danced!) by Nicholle McNiece and Andy McCalman

Dmitri Shostakovich’s 1927 “Tahiti Trot” orchestration of “Tea for Two”

Tea for Two
from the 1925 Broadway musical “No, No, Nanette”
music by Vincent Youmans
Lyrics by Irving Caesar

[ Verse 1:
I’m dis-con-ten-ted / with homes that I’ve ren-ted /
So I have in-ven-ted my own /
Dar-ling / this place is / a love-ly o-a-sis /
Where life’s wea-ry pace is un-known /

Far from the cry of the ci-ty /
Where flow-ers pret-ty / ca-ress the stream /
Co-zy to hide in / to live side by side in /
Don’t let it a-bide in my dream / ]

[ Chorus:
Pic-ture you / u-pon my knee /
Just tea for two / and two for tea /
Just me for you / and you for me / a-lone /

No-body near us / to see us or hear us /
No friends or re-la-tions / on week-end va-ca-tions /
We won’t have it known dear /
That we own a te-le-phone / dear /

Day will break / and you’ll a-wake /
and start to bake /
a su-gar cake / for me to take /
for all the boys / to see /

We will raise a fa-mi-ly /
a girl for you / a boy for me /
Can’t you see / how hap-py we would be! ]

[ Verse 2:
You are re-vea-ling / a plan so ap-pea-ling /
I can`t help but fal-ling for you /
Dar-ling I plan-ned it / can`t you un-der-stand it /
It’s yours to com-mand it / so do /

All of your schemes / I`m ad-mir-ing /
they`re worth de-sir-ing / but can`t you see /
I`d like to wait there / for some fu-ture date dear /
it won`t be too late / dear / for me / ]

[ Chorus ]

Score:

45640E49AF3BC48A80FC5A961E30958A

D3A8D1FF27AD65CD065F63B2FE0CB6D7

3 responses to “Tea for Two

    • Dear Heartafire,

      Isn’t it interesting that a heavyweight classical composer such as Dmitri Shostakovich would consider it worth his while to write an orchestration of such a lightweight song as “Tea for Two?”

      It just cracks me up!

    • Also, it was appalling how many lyrics webpages got the lyrics wrong.

      I had to listen carefully to the different renditions quite a few times before I realized how far off some of the words were.

      Most of them didn’t bother posting the second verse. I had to drill down to find it.

      Anyway, they’ve now been corrected or added.

Leave a Reply

