Sobre las olas (The Loveliest Night of the Year)


Sung by Pedro Infante, Mexican actor and singer

Orchestral performance by the Berliner Symphoniker, conducted by Robert Stolz

Piano solo by Waldteufel78, Swiss pianist

Sobre las olas (Over the Waves)
Music by Juventino P. Rosas, Mexican composer
1888

Spanish Lyrics as sung by Pedro Infante:

[ Chorus:
En la inmensidad, de las olas flotando te vi
y al irte a salvar, por tu vida la vida perdí.
Tu dulce visión, en mi alma indeleble grabo
la tierna pasión, que la dicha y la paz me robo.]

Si dentro de mi dolor, tu refugio llegara a turbar
te seguire con amor, note niegues mujer a escuchar.
El viento te llevara, los gemidos de mi corazon
y siempre repetirá, los acentos de mi canción.

La tempestad en su furia del mar
y del relámpago en duro fragor
solo podrán débilmente escuchar
la tempestad que hay aquí con tu amor.

Por doquiera que voy, tu recuerdo es mi guía
en la noche es mi fe, pues mi sol en el dia.
Mi suspiro es mi ideal, o mi acervo dolor
mi doliente quebranto, es por ti por tu amor.

Con mi gemido, te envió el corazon
y en mis ojos, te mando mi ser.
Mas no, no quiero de ti compasión
yo quiero amor, o por el perecer.

[ Chorus ]

Google Machine Translation into English:

[ Chorus:
In the vastness of the waves I saw you floating
and went to save you, for your life lost life.
Your sweet vision, recorded indelibly in my soul
the tender passion, the joy and peace I stole. ]

If in my pain, your refuge came to disturb
I will follow you with love, not neglect to listen to you woman.
The wind will take you, the groans of my heart
and always repeated, the accents of my song.

The tempest in its fury the sea
The lightning and thunder are loud
But I can only faintly hear
the storm in here with your love.

Everywhere I go, your memory is my guide
at night it is my faith, in the day it is my sun.
My breath is my ideal, or my pain shared
my aching grief, is for you for your love.

With my groaning, I sent you my heart
and in my eyes, I sent my being.
But no, you do not want pity
I want to love, or perish.

[ Chorus ]

Score:
93B894325782D2CD3216AD670B6B4889
http://en.scorser.com/Out/4778508.html
IMSLP49322-PMLP103953-ROSAS
http://imslp.org/wiki/Sobre_las_Olas_%28Rosas,_Juventino%29

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9


Sung by Mario Lanza, American tenor

Sung by Vera Lynn, British pop singer

The Loveliest Night of the Year
Musical adaptation by Irving Aaronson
English lyrics by Paul Francis Webster
1950

When you are in love / It’s the love-li-est night of the year /
Stars twin-kle a-bove / And you al-most can touch them from here /
Words fall into rhyme / A-ny-time you are hol-ding me near /
When you are in love / It’s the love-li-est night of the year /

[ Chorus:
Walt-zing a-long in the blue / Like a breeze drif-ting o-ver the sand /
Thrilled by the won-der of you / And the won-der-ful touch of your hand /
And my heart starts to beat / Like a child when a birth-day is near /
So kiss me my sweet / It’s the love-li-est night of the year / ]

[ Instrumental:
When you are in love / It’s the love-li-est night of the year /
Stars twin-kle a-bove / And you al-most can touch them from here /
Words fall into rhyme / A-ny-time you are hol-ding me near /
When you are in love / It’s the love-li-est night of the year / ]

[ Chorus ]

Leave a Reply

