Jalousie (Tango Tzigane)


Sung by Kathryn Grayson, American soprano

Sung by Placido Domingo, Spanish tenor

Uncredited String Quartet with Piano/Keyboard Accompaniment

Solo violin rendition by Caroline Adomeit, German violinist

Jalousie – Tango Tzigane (Jealousy – Gypsy Tango / 妒忌 – 吉普賽探戈)
Music by Jacob Gade, Danish composer (No kidding!)
1925

¡Ay de mí! los celos que yo sentí,
amargos cellos, por todos sus desdenes.
¡Ay de mí! los celos que yo sentí,
igual espina que tu clavaste en mí.

Sufrí pensé que otros labios besarás.
¿Por qué por qué tantos celos tu me das?
Al recordar, que te besé
tus labios, por ti lloraré.

[ Chorus:
Recuerdos de un día feliz
que fue claro sol para mí,
tu amor me jurabas sin vacilar,
mi amor sin recelos yo te ofrecía.

Después tu querer terminó,
desdenes y agravios sufrí
y si con rencor una vez te mire
fue porque tengo celos de ti.]

[ Chorus ]

[ Chorus ]

Translated into English

Woe to me! The jealousy that I feel,
bitter jealousy for all their disdain.
Woe to me! The jealousy that I feel
is a thorn that you drove into me.

I suffer thinking of the other lips you will kiss.
Why, why do you make me so jealous?
Recalling myself kissing
your lips for you I weep.

Memories of a happy day
the sun shone bright for me.
Your love you swore to me without vacillation,
My love without reservations I offered you.

Later your love for me ended,
disdain and indignation I suffered.
And if with rancor I looked at you,
it was because I was jealous of you.

翻譯成中文

唉我多磨悲哀!我感到的嫉妒,
苦毒的嫉妒, 一切他們對我的不屑。
唉我多磨悲哀!我感到的嫉妒,
是一根你推入我心的刺。

心痛地想到別人親吻你嘴唇
為什麼,為什麼你讓我如此嫉妒?
回想到我往日
吻你嘴唇時,我就為你洛淚。

回想到快樂的一天
太陽照耀者我
你毫不猶豫地對我宣誓你的愛,
我毫不保留的提出我對你的愛。

你對我的愛情消逝後,
我遭受冷落充滿怨氣
如果我對你有積怨
是因為我還嫉妒你。

Jalousie – Tango Tzigane Phrasing

[ Instrumental prelude: ]

Ay de mí / los ce-los que yo sen-tí /
a-mar-gos cel-los / por to-dos sus des-de-nes /
[ ]
Ay de mí / los ce-los que yo sen-tí /
i-gual es-pi-na / que tu cla-vaste en mí /
[ ]
Su-frí pen-sé que o-tros la-bios / be-sa-rás /
Por qué por qué tan-tos ce-los / tu me das /
Al re-cor-dar / [ Al re-cor-dar ] que te be-sé /
tus la-bios / por ti llo-raré /
[ ]
[ Chorus:
Re-cuer-dos de un dí-a / fe-liz /
que fue cla-ro sol / pa-ra mí /
tu a-mor me ju-ra-bas sin va-ci-lar /
mi a-mor sin re-ce-los yo te o-fre-cí-a /

Des-pués / tu que-rer / ter-mi-nó /
des-de-nes y a-gra-vios / su-frí /
y si con ren-cor / u-na vez / te mi-re /
fue por-que / ten-go ce-los de ti / ]
[ ]
[ Chorus ]
[ Chorus ]
[ ]

Jalousie (Gelosia) Tango Zigano score:
C21E81A7621A9354EC2842857E7F465B
http://en.scorser.com/Out/4789864.html

Celos (Jalousie) Tango Gitano score:

Celos1
Celos2

//

2 responses to “Jalousie (Tango Tzigane)

    • Isn’t it?

      It’s amazing. This was the only song Jacob Gade wrote that survived.

      But “survive” is not the word! This 1925 song soars, even today, nearly a century later.

      Music composition is truly amazing. Write a single three or four minute song, the right song, and it can live in peoples’ hearts forever.

      I’m an amateur music lover who admires the hell out of professional composers. To me they are magicians who create something utterly fantastical out of thin air.

Leave a Reply

