One Day When We Were Young


Sung by Fernand Gravet, Belgian actor

Sung by Miliza Korjus, Estonian soprano

Sung by Richard Tauber, Austrian tenor

Sung by Webster Booth, British tenor

Wer Uns Getraut, from Der Zigeunerbaron
Sung by Martina Serafin, Austrian soprano, and Zachos Terzakis, Greek tenor

One Day When We Were Young (Wers Uns Getraut)
From the operetta “Gypsy Baron”
Music by Johann Strauss II
Adapted by Dimitri Tiomkin for the film “The Great Waltz”
English lyrics for the film by Oscar Hammerstein II

One day when we were young /
One won-der-ful mor-ning in May /
You told me / you loved me /
When we were young one day /

Sweet songs of spring were sung /
And mu-sic was ne-ver so gay /
You told me / you loved me /
When we were young one day /

You told me / you loved me /
And held me close to your heart /
We laughed then / we cried then /
Then came the ti-ime to part /

When songs of spring are sung /
Re-mem-ber that mor-ning in May /
Re-mem-ber / you loved me /
When we were young one day!

We laughed then / we cried then /
Then came the ti-ime to part /

When songs of spring are sung /
Re-mem-ber that mor-ning in May
Re-mem-ber / you loved me /
When we were young one day!

Wers un getraut, score for voice and piano:
IMSLP235281-PMLP61434-Strauss_Jr.__Johann__Der_Zigeunerbaron__No.11__ArrVoicePiano

Leave a Reply

