We Have Loved


Francesco Paolo Tosti

We Have Loved
Music by Francesco Paolo Tosti
Lyrics by ?

I wan-der back to the old sweet bower /
where the ro-ses bloom a-bove /
though far a-way I can hear you say /
We have loved and yet may love /

Oh the sil-ver wil-lows sad-ly sigh /
and the ri-ver still flows on /
Once more I greet in a dream-land sweet /
The love of the days gone by /

[ Chorus:
Be true to me as I to thee /
True as the stars a-bove /
Twixt soul and soul tho the mists may roll /
We have loved and yet may lo-ove ]

[ Chorus ]

The bride like look of the past has fled /
Yet like the ri-ver at my feet /
In an end-less flow my thoughts now go /
To the dream-land where we meet /

We can ne’er for-get tho the eyes be wet /
Tho the clouds be dark a-bove /
The tale once told in the days of old /
We have loved and yet may love /

[ Chorus ]

[ Chorus ]

May love!

//

Leave a Reply

