On the Street Where You Live


Sung by Bill Shirley, dubbing for Jeremy Brett, from the 1964 film version

Sung by Hermann Prey, German baritone

Sung by Michael Xavier

On the Street Where You Live
Music by Frederick Loewe
Lyrics by Alan Jay Lerner
from the 1956 Broadway musical “My Fair Lady”

I have of-ten walked / down this street be-fore /
But the pave-ment al-ways stayed / be-neath my feet be-fore /
All at once am I / seve-ral sto-ries high /
Know-ing I’m / on the street / where you live /

Are there li-lac trees / in the heart of town /
Can you hear a lark in a-ny o-ther part of town /
Does en-chant-ment pour / out of ev’ry door /
No / it’s just / on the street / where you live /

And oh / The tow-er-ing fee-ling /
Just to know / some-how you are near /
The o-ver-pow-er-ing fee-ling /
That a-ny se-cond you may sud-den-ly ap-pear /

Peo-ple stop and stare / They don’t bo-ther me /
For there’s no where else on earth that I would ra-ther be /
Let the time go by / I won’t care if I /
Can be here / on the street / where you live /

Peo-ple stop and stare / They don’t bo-ther me /
For there’s no where else on earth / that I would ra-ther be /
Let the time go by / I won’t care if I /
Can be here / on the street / where you live!


Sung by Placido Domingo, Spanish tenor
Domingo got his professional start in the first Mexican production of My Fair Lady.

Sung by Unidentified Mariachi Band in the film “Joe versus the Volcano”

En La Calle Donde Tu Vives, de “Mi Bella Dama”
Spanish Lyrics by Gabriel Pascal

En tu calle estoy sin saber por qué,
Sin pensar camino y llego junto a tu balcón.
Es el corazón quien me trae aquí.
Es aquí donde vive mi amor.

Por primera vez me parece ver
Que los arboles florecen en invierno igual.
Que al llegar aquí ha salido el sol,
Es aquí donde vive mi amor.

Sentir que tú estás muy cerca,
Y saber que vives aquí.
Pensar que si abro la puerta,
En un momento tu sonrisa encontraré.

Al amanecer y al anochecer,
Hoy igual que ayer, mañana igual igual que hoy.
En tu calle estoy, y no sé por qué.
Es aquí donde vive mi amor.

Spanish Lyrics translated into English:

On your street, I do not know why,
Without thinking about how, I arrived at your balcony.
It is the heart that brings me here.
This is where my love lives.

For the first time I think I see
The same winter-flowering trees.
When I arrived here the sun was shining,
This is where my love lives.

Feeling that you are very close,
And knowing that you live here.
Thinking that if I open the door,
At any moment I will see your smile.

At dawn and at dusk,
Today as yesterday, tomorrow as today.
On your street, and I do not know why.
This is where my love lives.

En La Calle Donde Tu Vives Phrasing:

[ Instrumental: ]

En tu cal-le es-toy / sin sa-ber por qué /
Sin pen-sar ca-mi-no y lle-go jun-to a tu bal-cón /
Es el co-ra-zón / quien me trae a-quí /
Es a-quí / don-de vi-ve / mi a-mor /

Por pri-me-ra vez / me pa-re-ce ver /
Que los ar-bo-les flo-re-cen en in-vier-no i-gual /
Que al lle-ga-r a-quí / ha sa-li-do el sol /
Es a-quí / don-de vi-ve / mi a-mor /

Sen-tir / que tú estás muy cer-ca /
Y sa-ber / que vi-ves a-quí /
Pen-sar / que si a-bro la puer-ta /
En un mo-men-to tu son-ri-sa en-con-tra-ré /

A-l a-ma-ne-cer / y al a-no-che-cer /
Hoy igual que a-yer / ma-ña-na igual igual que hoy /
En tu cal-le e-stoy / y no sé por qué /
Es a-quí / don-de vi-ve / mi a-mor /

[ Instrumental:
Sen-tir / que tú es-tás muy cer-ca /
Y sa-ber / que vi-ves a-quí /
Pen-sar / que si a-bro la pu-er-ta /
En un mo-men-to tu son-ri-sa en-con-tra-ré / ]

A-l a-ma-ne-cer / y al a-no-che-cer /
Hoy i-gual que a-yer / ma-ña-na igual igual que hoy /
En tu cal-le es-toy / y no sé por qué /
Es a-quí / don-de vi-ve / mi a-mor!

One response to “On the Street Where You Live

Leave a Reply

