Stornellatrice


Sung by Victoria de Los Angeles, 1957, orchestra

Sung by Victoria de Los Angeles, 1949, piano

http://www.listengo.com/song/8u685522877
Sung by Victoria de Los Angeles

Sung by Nicolai Gedda

Sung by Cristiano Cremonini, 2009

Sung by 薛映東 Stephan Hsieh

Stornellatrice (Singer of Stornella)
Music by Ottorino Respighi
Lyrics by Carlo Zangarini (Stanzas 1 and 2) and Alberto Donini (Stanzas 3 and 4)
1906
http://www.recmusic.org/lieder/get_multi_text_setting.html?SettingId=20686

Che mi giova cantar: “Fior di betulla:
Why should I enjoy singing: “Flower of Birch:
Vorrei tu fossi il sole ed io la stella,
I would like you to be the sun and I the star,
E andar pel cielo e non pensare a nulla!”
And go to heaven and think of nothing!”
Quando poi l’eco mi risponde: nulla?
At which time the echo responds: nothing?

Che mi vale cantar: “Fiore dei fiori:
What’s the use of singing: “Flower of flowers:
Tu sei l’amore mio doggi e di ieri:
You are the love of my yesterday and today:
Tu sei l’amore mio che mai non muori!”
You are my love that will never die!”
Quando poi l’eco mi risponde: muori?
At which time the echo responds: die?

Che mi giova cantar: “Fior di frumento,
Why should I enjoy singing: “Flower of wheat,
Tu sei la mia ricchezza ed il mio vanto,
You are my wealth and my pride,
Tu sei la mia speranza ed il mio tormento!”
You are my hope and my torment!”
Quando poi l’eco mi risponde: mento?
At which time the echo responds: torment?

Che mi giova cantar: “Fior de’ ghiacciai,
Why should I enjoy singing: “Flowers of the glaciers,
Si spegnerà nel gel la fiamma mia,
The flame will go out in my [gel?],
E tanto t’odierò quanto t’amai!”
And I will hate you as much as I loved you!”
Quando poi l’eco mi risponde: mai?
At which time the echo responds: loved you!

Stornellatrice Phrasing

Che mi gio-va can-tar / Fior di be-tul-la /
Vor-rei tu fos-si il so-le ed i-o / la stel-la /
E an-dar pel cie-lo e non pen-sa-re a / nu-u-ul-la /
Quan-do poi l’e-co mi ri-spon-de / nu-u-u-ul-la?

Che mi va-le can-tar / Fio-re dei fio-ri /
Tu sei l’a-mo-re mi-o / dog-gi e di ie-ri /
Tu sei l’a-mo-re mi-o / che mai non muo-o-o-ri /
Quan-do poi l’e-co / mi ri-spon-de muo-o-o-o-ri

Che mi gio-va can-tar / Fior di fru-men-to /
Tu sei la mi-a ric-chez-za ed il / mi-o van-to /
Tu sei la mi-a spe-ran-za ed il mi-o / tor-me-e-en-to /
Quan-do poi l’eco mi ri-spon-de / me-e-e-en-to?

Leave a comment