Someone To Watch Over Me


Sung by Jean Louisa Kelly, in the 1995 film “Mr. Holland’s Opus”
The definitive rendition of this Gershwin classic. — the one that gets it exactly right in both phrasing and feeling

Sung by Jean Louisa Kelly, live in concert, uncut
Live performance. Tempo a tad slow, therefore second to the studio recording used in the film

Sung by Saundra Santiago, “Miami Vice” 1986

Someone To Watch Over Me
Music by George Gershwin
Lyrics by Ira Gershwin
From the Broadway Musical “Oh Kay!”
1926

Standard Male Vocalist Version

[ Verse:
There’s a say-ing old / says that love is blind /
Still we’re of-ten told / seek and ye shall find /
So I’m going to seek a cer-tain gal / I’ve / had / in mind /

Loo-king e-very-where / hav-en’t found her yet /
She’s the big af-fair / I can-not for-get /
Only girl I ever think of with re-gret /

I’d like / to add my i-ni-tial to her mo-no-gram /
Tell me / where is the she-pherd for / this / lost / lamb / ]

[ Chorus:
There’s a some-bo-dy I’m long-ing to see /
I hope that she / turns out to be /
Some-one who’ll watch / o-ver me-e /

I’m a lit-tle lamb who’s lost in the wood /
I know I could / al-ways be good /
To one who’ll watch / o-ver me /

Al-though she may not be the girl /
some men / think of / as pret-ty /
To my heart / she car-ries / the key-ey /

Won’t you tell her please to put on some speed /
Fol-low my lead / Oh how I need /
Some-one to watch o-ver me / ]

[ Chorus ]

Someone To Watch Over Me Phrasing, as sung by soprano Kiri Te Kanawa

There’s a say-ing old / says that love is blind /
Still we’re of-ten told / seek and ye shall find /
So I’m going to seek a cer-tain lad I’ve / had / in mind /

Loo-king e-very-where / hav-en’t found him yet /
He’s the big af-fair / I can-not for-get /
Only man I ever think of with re-gret /

I’d like / to add his i-ni-tial to my mo-no-gram /
Tell me / where is the she-pherd for / this / lost / lamb /

There’s a some-bo-dy I’m long-ing to see /
I hope that he / turns out to be /
Some-one who’ll watch / o-ver meee-e /

I’m a lit-tle lamb who’s lost in the wood /
I know I could / al-ways be good /
To one who’ll watch / o-ver me /

Al-though he may not be the man /
some girls / think of / as hand-some /
To my heart / he car-ries / the key-ey /

Won’t you tell him please to put on some speed /
Fol-low my lead / Oh how I need /
Some-one to watch o-ver me /

[ Al-though he may not be the man some /
girls think of / as hand-some /
To my heart / he car-ries / the key-ey / ]

Won’t you tell him all my love I will send /
I’ll be his slave / Oh how I crave /
Some-one to watch o-ver me!

Someone to Watch Over Me
“一個看守我的人”
來自 1926 的百老匯舞台劇 “Oh Kay!”
作曲 George Gershwin 喬治·蓋希文
歌詞 Ira Gershwin 艾拉‧蓋希文

There’s a saying old, says that love is blind
有一種老說法,說愛是盲目的
Still we’re often told “Seek and ye shall find”
可是經常也有人告訴我們 “尋找就會發現”
So I’m going to seek a certain gal I’ve had in mind
所以我要尋找莫一個我心中的女孩

Looking everywhere, haven’t found her yet
到處尋找,可是還沒找到她
She’s the big affair I cannot forget
她是我無法忘懷的偉大愛情
Only gal I ever think of with regret
唯一曾經令我滿懷遺憾的女孩

I’d like to add my initial to her monogram
我想把我的姓添加到她字母組合中
Tell me, where is the shepherd for this lost lamb?
告訴我, 這迷路的羔羊的牧羊人在那裡?

There’s a somebody I’m longing to see
有一個人是我渴望看到的
I hope that she, turns out to be
我希望她能是
Someone who’ll watch over me
一個會照看我的人

I’m a little lamb who’s lost in the wood
我是一隻迷失在樹林中的小綿羊
I know I could, always be good,
to one who’ll watch over me
我知道我可以對那個照管我的人永遠很好

Although she may not be the girl some men think of as pretty
也許她不是一位一般男人認為漂亮的女孩
To my heart she carries the key
可是她打開了我心中的鎖

Won’t you telI her please to put on some speed
請你告訴她加快速度
Follow my lead
按照我的指引
Oh! How I need, someone to watch over me
哦,我多麼需要一個看守我的人
Someone to watch over me!
一個看守我的人!

//

Leave a Reply

