Sogno


Sung by Renata Tebaldi, Italian soprano, born 1922


Sung by Carlo Bergonzi, Italian tenor, born 1924

Sogno (Dream)
Music by Francesco Paolo Tosti
Lyrics by Lorenzo Stecchetti, aka Orlindo Guerrini
1886

Sogno, in Original Italian, with English Translation

Ho sognato che stavi a ginocchi, come un santo che prega il Signor
I dreamed you were on your knees, like a saint praying to the Lord
Mi guardavi nel fondo degl’occhi, sfavillava il tuo sguardo d’amor.
You looked at me and in your eyes, sparkled a look of love
Tu parlavi e la voce sommessa, mi chiedea dolcemente merce
You spoke and your soft voice, asked me sweetly for mercy
Solo un guardo che fosse promessa, imploravi curvato al mio pie.
With just a glance filled with promise, you implored me bended at my feet

Io taceva e coll’anima forte, il desio tentatore lotto,
I silently and with strong will, struggled against great temptation
Ho provato il martirio e la morte, pur mi vinsi e ti dissi di no.
I experienced martyrdom and death, emerged victorious and said no
Ma il tuo labbro sfiorò la mia faccia, e la forza del cor mi tradi,
But your lips touched my face, and the force of my heart betrayed me
Chiusi gli occhi, ti stesi le braccia, ma sognavo e il bel sogno svani!
You closed your eyes, you stretched out your arms, but I was dreaming and the beautiful dream vanished!

Sogno Phrasing

[ Instrumental: ]

Ho so-gna-to che sta-vi a gi-noc-chi / co-me un san-to che pre-ga il Si-gnor /
Mi guar-da-vi nel fon-do de-gl’oc-chi / sfa-vil-la-va il tuo sguar-do / d’a-mor /
Tu par-la-vi e la vo-ce som-mes-sa / mi chie-de-a dol-cem-en-te mer-ce /
So-lo un guar-do / che fos-se / pro-mes-sa / im-plo-ra-vi / cur-va-to a-a-al mio pie /

[ Instrumental: ]

Io ta-ce-va e col-l’a-ni-ma for-te / il de-sio ten-ta-to-re lot-to /
Ho pro-va-to il mar-ti-rio e la mor-te / pur mi vin-si e ti dis-si / di no /
Ma il tuo lab-bro sfio-rò la mia fac-cia / e la for-za del cor mi tra-di /
Chiu-si gli oc-chi / ti ste-si le brac-cia / ma so-gna-vo / e il bel so-gno-o-o / sva-ni!

[ Instrumental: ]

Google Machine Translation 谷歌電腦翻譯

我夢見你在你的膝蓋,像一個聖人祈求上帝
你看著我的眼睛,閃閃發光一臉的愛
你說,你的溫柔的聲音,問我甜甜地求饒
只充斥著承諾一目了然,你央求我彎曲在我的腳下

我默默的和堅強的意志,奮鬥了反對極大的誘惑
我經歷了殉難而死亡,勝出並說沒有
但是,你的嘴唇觸到我的臉,我的心臟的力量背叛了我
你關閉你的眼睛,你伸出你的手,但我是在做夢以及美麗的夢消失了!

Leave a Reply

