Over the Rainbow


Over the Rainbow, sung by Suzan Erens

Over the Rainbow
Music by Harold Arlen
Lyrics by E.Y. Harburg
1939

Over the Rainbow Phrasing

Some-where / o-ver the rain-bow / way up high /
There’s a land that I heard of / once in a lul-la-by /
Some-where / o-ver the rain-bow / skies are blue /
And the dreams that you dare to dream / real-ly do come true /

Some-day I’ll wish upon a star /
And wake up where the clouds are far be-hind me /
Where trou-bles melt like le-mon drops /
A-way a-bove the chim-ney tops /
That’s where you’ll find me! /

When all the world is a hope-less jum-ble /
And the rain-drops tum-ble all a-round /
Hea-ven o-pens a ma-gic lane /

When all the clouds dar-ken up the sky-way /
There’s a rain-bow high-way to be found /
Lea-ding from your win-dow pane /
To a place be-hind the sun /
Just a step be-yond the rai-ain! /

Some-where / o-ver the rain-bow / blue-birds fly /
Birds fly o-ver the rain-bow / Why then oh why can’t I? /
If hap-py lit-tle blue-birds fly /
Be-yond the rain-bow /
Why oh why / can’t I?

Over the Rainbow Phrasing, as sung by Suzan Erens and conducted by Andre Rieu

[Instrumental: Some day I’ll wish upon a star / and wake up where the clouds are far be-hind me / da da da da / da da da da]
When all the world is a hope-less jum-ble /
And the rain-drops tum-ble all a-round /
Hea-ven o-pens a ma-gic lane /
[da da da da / da da da da]
When all the clouds dar-ken up the sky-way /
There’s a rain-bow high-way to be found /
Lea-ding from your win-dow pane /
To a place be-hind the sun /
Just a step be-yond the rai-ain! /

Some-where / o-ver the rain-bow / way up high /
There’s a land that I heard of / once in a lul-la-by /
Some-where / o-ver the rain-bow / skies are blue /
And the dreams that you dare to dream / real-ly do come true /

Some-day I’ll wish upon a star /
And wake up where the clouds are far be-hind me /
[da da da da / da da da da]
Where trou-bles melt like le-mon drops /
A-way a-bove the chim-ney tops /
That’s where you’ll find me! /

Some-where / o-ver the rain-bow / blue-birds fly /
Birds fly o-ver the rain-bow / Why then oh why can’t I? /
[Some-where / o-ver the rain-bow / blue-birds fly]
Birds fly / o-ver the rain-bow / Why then oh why can’t I? /

Some-day I’ll wish upon a star /
And wake up where the clouds are far be-hind me /
[da da da da / da da da da]
If hap-py lit-tle blue-birds fly /
Be-yond the rain-bow /
Why oh why / can’t I?

 

Leave a Reply

