If Ever I Would Leave You


Sung by Robert Goulet

Sung by Julie Andrews, American soprano

Sung by Richard Fredricks, American bass-baritone

If Ever I Would Leave You
Lyrics by Alan J. Lerner
Music by Fredrick Loewe
From the Broadway musical “Camelot”
1960

Phrasing, as sung by Robert Goulet

[ Instrumental: Oh no not in spring-time / sum-mer win-ter or fall /
No ne-ver could I leave you / at all!
]

If e-ver I would leave you / it woul-dn’t be in sum-mer /
See-ing you in sum-mer / I ne-ver would go /
Your hair streaked with sun-light / your lips red as flame /
your face with a lus-tre / that puts gold to shame /

But if I’d e-ver leave you / how could it be in au-tumn /
How I’d leave in au-tumn / I never would know /
I’ve seen how you spar-kle / when fall nips the air /
I know you in au-tumn / and I must be there /

And could I leave you run-ning mer-ri-ly / through the snow /
Or on a win-try eve-ning / when you catch the fire’s glow /

If e-ver I would leave you / how could it be in spring-time /
Know-ing how in spring I’m / be-witched by you so /
Oh no not in spring-time / sum-mer win-ter or fall /
No ne-ver could I leave you / at all /

[ Instrumental: And could I leave you running merrily through the snow?
Or on a wintry evening / when you catch the fire’s glow? ]

If e-ver I would leave you / how could it be in spring-time /
Know-ing how in spring I’m / be-witched by you so /
Oh no not in spring-time / sum-mer win-ter or fall /
No ne-ver could I leave you / at all!

//

Leave a Reply

