This Nearly Was Mine


Sung by Paul Szot, Brazilian baritone

This Nearly Was Mine 我幾乎擁有
Music by Richard Rodgers
Lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein
from the Broadway Musical “South Pacific”
1949
Chinese Translation by Angela Lee

One dream in my heart, one love to be living for,
我心中擁有一個美夢,我為一份愛而活,
one love to be living for, this nearly was mine.
我為一份愛而活,這份愛我幾乎擁有。
One girl for my dream, one partner in paradise,
我的夢中情人,我的神仙伴侶,
this promise of paradise, this nearly was mine.
那如天堂般歡娛的承諾,我幾乎擁有。

Close to my heart she came, only to fly away,
她來了貼緊我的胸膛,可是她又飛去了,
only to fly as day flies from moonlight.
她的飛去就像時光從月光中飛逝。
Now, now I’m alone, still dreaming of paradise,
現在,現在我是那麼地孤獨,卻仍不斷在做天堂之夢,
still saying that paradise once nearly was mine.
述說那美妙的天堂一度我幾乎擁有。

So clear and deep are my fancies, of things I wish were true,
那如此清淅且深刻的迷戀,真希望能夠美夢成真。
I’ll keep remembering evenings, I wish I’d spent with you,
我將永遠回憶那些希望曾跟你共度的美妙良宵,
I ‘ll keep remembering kisses from lips I’ll never own,
我將永遠回味我從未親吻過的你那甜美之唇,
and all the lovely adventures, that we have never known.
以及所有我們還不知道的美妙探索

This Nearly Was Mine Phrasing

[ da da da / da da da / daa daa ]
One dream in my heart / [ dum da da / dum da da ]
one love to be liv-ing for / [ dum da da ]
one love to be liv-ing for / [ dum da da ]
this / near-ly was mine / [ dum da da / dum da da ]
One girl for my dream / [ dum da da / dum da da ]
one part-ner in pa-ra-dise / [ dum da da ]
this pro-mise of pa-ra-dise / [ dum da da ]
this / near-ly was mine / [ dum da da / dum da da ]

Close to my heart she came / [ dum da da / dum da da ]
on-ly to fly a-way / [ dum da da / dum da da ]
on-ly to fly as day / [ dum da da ]
flies from moon-li-i-ight! / [ dum da da / da da ]

Now / now I’m a-lone / [ dum da da / dum da da ]
still dream-ing of pa-ra-dise / [ dum da da ]
still say-ing that pa-ra-dise / [ dum da da ]
once / near-ly was mine / [ dum da da ]

So clear and deep are my fan-cies / [ dum da da ]
of things I wi-ish were true / [ dum da da / dum da da ]
I’ll keep re-mem-ber-ing eve-nings /
I wish I’d spent with you / [ dum da da / dum da da ]
I’ll keep re-mem-ber-ing kis-ses /
from lips I’ll ne-ver own / [ dum da da / dum da da ]
and all the love-ly ad-ven-tures /
that we have ne-ver known / [ dum da da da ]

One dream in my heart / [ dum da da / dum da da ]
one love to be liv-ing for / [ dum da da ]
one love to be liv-ing for / [ dum da da ]
this / near-ly was mine / [ dum da da / dum da da ]
One girl for my dream / [ dum da da / dum da da ]
one part-ner in pa-ra-dise / [ dum da da ]
this pro-mise of pa-ra-dise / [ dum da da ]
this / near-ly was mine / [ dum da da / dum da da ]

Close to my heart she came / [ dum da da / dum da da ]
on-ly to fly a-way / [ dum da da / dum da da ]
on-ly to fly as day / [ dum da da ]
flies from moon-li-i-ight! / [ dum da da / da da ]

Now / now I’m a-lone / [ dum da da / dum da da ]
still dream-ing of pa-ra-dise / [ dum da da ]
still say-ing that pa-ra-di-ise / [ dum da da ]
once / near-ly was mi-i-ine!

//

Leave a Reply

