The Very Thought of You


Sung by Al Bowly

http://www.metacafe.com/watch/1456486/natalie_cole_the_very_thought_of_you/
Sung by Natalie Cole

The Very Thought of You
Music and Lyrics by Ray Noble
1934

[Optional Prologue:
I don’t need your pho-to-graph to keep by my bed /
Your pic-ture is al-ways in my head /
I don’t need your por-trait / dear / to bring you to mind
For slee-ping or wa-king / dear / I find/]

[Instrumental: The ve-ry thought of you / and I for-get to do /
The lit-tle or-di-nar-y things / that every-one ought to do /
I’m li-ving in / a kind of day-dream /
I’m hap-py as a king /
And foo-lish / though it may seem /
To me / that’s every-thing /
The ve-ry thought of you / and I for-get to do /
The lit-tle or-di-nar-y things / that every-one ought to do /
I’m li-ving in / a kind of day-dream /
I’m hap-py as a king /
The ve-ry thought of you /
The ve-ry thought of you / my love /]

The ve-ry thought of you / and I for-get to do /
The lit-tle or-di-nar-y things / that every-one ought to do /
I’m li-ving in / a kind of day-dream /
I’m hap-py as a king /
And foo-lish / though it may seem /
To me / that’s every-thing /

The mere i-dea of you / the long-ing here for you /
You’ll ne-ver know / how slow / the mo-ments go / till I’m near to you /
I see your face / in eve-ry flow-er /
Your eyes / in stars above /
It’s just the thought of you /
The ve-ry thought of you / my love /

[The ve-ry thought of you / and I for-get to do /
The lit-tle or-di-nar-y things / that every-one ought to do /
I’m li-ving in / a kind of day-dream /
I’m hap-py as a king /]

It’s just the thought of you /
The ve-ry thought of you / my love!

Leave a Reply

