Smoke Gets in Your Eyes


Sung by Kathryn Grayson, American Soprano

Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
Music by Jerome Kern
Lyrics by Otto Harbach
From the 1933 Broadway Musical “Roberta”

[Instrumental: ]

They asked me how I knew / my true love was true /
I of course re-plied / some-thing here in-side /
can-not be de-ni-i-ed /

They said some-day you’ll find / all who love are blind /
When your heart’s on fire / you must re-a-lize /
Smoke gets in your eyes /

[ ]

So I chaf-fed and then I gail-y laughed /
To think that they could doubt my love /
Yet to-day / my love has flown away /
I am with-out / my love /

Now laugh-ing friends de-ride / tears I can-not hide /
So / I smile and say / when a love-ly flame dies /
Smoke gets in your eyes /

[ ]

So I chaf-fed and then I gail-y laughed /
To think that they could doubt my love /
Yet to-day / my love has flown away /
I am with-out / my love /

Now laugh-ing friends de-ride / tears I can-not hide /
So I smile and say / when a love-ly flame dies /
Smoke gets in your eyes

Score:
http://en.scorser.com/Out/4320906.html

p-59

p-60

p-61

Leave a Reply

