Send in the Clowns


Sung by Judy Collins

Send in the Clowns
Music by Stephen Sondheim
from the Broadway Musical “A Little Night Music”
1973

[Instrumental: Is-n’t it rich / Are we a pair /
Me here at last on the ground / You in mid-air /
Send in the clowns /]

Is-n’t it rich / Are we a pair /
Me here at last on the ground / You in mid-air /
Send in the clowns /

Is-n’t it bliss / Don’t you ap-prove /
One who keeps tea-ring a-round / One who can’t move /
Where are the clowns / Send in the clowns /

Just when I’d stop-ped / o-pe-ning doors /
Fi-nal-ly know-ing the one that I wan-ted / was yours /
Ma-king my en-trance a-gain with my u-su-al flair /
Sure of my lines / No one is there /

[ ]

Don’t you love farce / My fault I fear /
I thought that you’d want what I want / Sor-ry / my dear /
But where are the clowns / Quick / send in the clowns /
Don’t bo-ther / they’re here /

[ ]

Is-n’t it rich / Is-n’t it queer /
Lo-sing my ti-ming this late / in my ca-reer /
And where are the clowns / There ought to be clowns /
Well / may-be next year.

小丑進場 歌詞翻譯
詩歌 譯作
http://site.douban.com/142470/widget/articles/6931538/article/16889629/

多麼美妙啊,能牽起你的手嗎?
我躺在地上仰望,而你還在天空飄蕩。
哦,小丑為何還不進場?

有如天賜良緣,你是否也這麼想?
一個激情蕩漾,一個冷若冰霜。
哦,小丑在哪裡?為何還不進場 ?

當我的心扉不再為愛情叩響,
恰恰此時你來到了我的身旁。
我還真是天賦異常,聯翩浮想。
意料之中的劇情和觀眾,依舊只是幻像。

這是我的錯,也許你並不喜歡純粹的鬧劇一場。
對不起,親愛的,我以為我們有著共同的守望。
哦,小丑在哪兒?快叫小丑進場。
啊,快看,小丑已經出場。

這絢麗的世界,充滿奇妙的夢想。
歲月告訴我曾經的錯過的時光。
哦,小丑在哪裡?為何還不進場?
明日的等待屬於我的期望。

Score:

Sondheim – Send In The Clowns

http://www.stcc.edu.hk/~wyc/webshare/Musical%20Scores/score/Sondheim/Sondheim%20-%20Send%20In%20The%20Clowns.pdf

Leave a Reply

