Core ‘ngrato


Sung by Alfredo Kraus, Spanish tenor

Sung by Giuseppe Di Stefano, Italian tenor

Sung by Leyna Gabriele, Italian soprano

Sung by Luciano Pavarotti, Italian tenor

Score: 01778294_andrea_bocceli_-_core_39ngrato or
http://en.primanota.ru/andrea-bocceli/core-ngrato-score-1778294.htm

Core ‘ngrato (Ungrateful Heart)
Music by Salvatore Cardillo
Lyrics by Riccardo Cordiferro (Alessandro Sisca)

Catarí, Catarí,
Catherine, Catherine,
pecché me dici sti parole amare,
why do you speak to me such bitter words,
pecché me parle e ‘o core me turmiente, Catarí?
Why do you speak only to torment my heart, Catherine?
Nun te scurdà ca t’aggio dato ‘o core, Catarí, nun te scurdà!
Do not forget that I have given you my heart, Catherine, do not forget!

Catarí, Catarí, ché vene a dicere stu parlà ca me dà spaseme?
Catherine, Catherine, why do you speak just to put me in agony?
Tu nun’nce pienze a stu dulore mio, tu nun’nce pienze, tu nun te ne cure.
You never think of my sadness, you never think, you never seem to care.

Core, core ‘ngrato,
Heart, ungrateful heart,
t’aie pigliato ‘a vita mia,
you took possession of my life,
tutt’è passato, e nun’nce pienze chiù.
now it’s over, and you no longer think of me.

Catarí, Catarí,
Catherine, Catherine,
tu nun ‘o ssaje ca fino e ‘int’a na chiesa io só’ trasuto e aggiu pregato a Dio, Catarí.
you do not know that even in church I bring my prayers to God, Catherine.
E ll’aggio ditto pure a ‘o cunfessore: “Stó’ a suffrí pe’ chella llá
And I recount my confession to the priest: “I am suffering from such a great love!

Stó’ a suffrí, stó’ a suffrí nun se pò credere, stó’ a suffrí tutte li strazie!”
I am suffering, I suffer from not knowing your love, I suffer a sorrow that tortures my soul!”
E ‘o cunfessore, ch’è perzona santa, mm’ha ditto: “Figliu mio, lássala stá, lássala stá!”
And I confess, that the Holy Mother spoke to me: “My son, you must never forget, never forget!”

Core, core ‘ngrato,
Heart, ungrateful heart,
t’aie pigliato ‘a vita mia,
you took possession of my life,
tutt’è passato, e nun’nce pienze chiù!
now it’s over, and you no longer think of me!

Core ‘ngrato Phrasing, as sung by Alfredo Kraus

[Instrumental: Co-re / co-o-re ‘n-gra-to /
t’aie pi-glia-to ‘a / vi-i-ta / mi-i-a /
tut-t’è / pas-sa-a-to / e nun’n-ce pien-ze / chiù-ù-ù-ù /]

Ca-ta-rí / Ca-ta-rí /
pec-ché me di-ci sti pa-ro-le a-ma-re /
pec-ché / me par-le e ‘o co-re me / tur-mien-te Ca-ta-rí /
Nun te scur-dà / ca t’ag-gio da-to ‘o / co-re Ca-ta-rí / nun te-e-e  / scur-dà /

Ca-ta-rí / Ca-ta-rí ché ve-ne a di-ce-re /
stu par-là ca me / dà spa-se-me /
Tu / nun’n-ce pien-ze a stu du-lo-re mi-o /
tu nun’n-ce pien-ze / tu nun te ne cu-u-re /

Co-re / co-o-re ‘n-gra-to /
t’aie pi-glia-to ‘a / vi-i-ta / mi-i-a /
tut-t’è / pas-sa-to / e nun’n-ce pien-ze / chiù-ù-ù-ù /

[Co-re / co-o-re ‘n-gra-to /
t’aie pi-glia-to ‘a / vi-i-ta / mi-i-a /]

tut-t’è / pas-sa-to / e nun’n-ce pien-ze / chiù-ù-ù-ù!

Core ‘ngrato Phrasing, as sung by Giuseppe Di Stefano

[Instrumental: Co-re / co-o-re ‘n-gra-to /
t’aie pi-glia-to ‘a / vi-i-ta / mi-i-a /
tut-t’è / pas-sa-a-to / e nun’n-ce pien-ze / chiù-ù-ù-ù /]

Ca-ta-rí / Ca-ta-rí /
pec-ché me di-ci sti pa-ro-le a-ma-re /
pec-ché / me par-le e ‘o co-re / me tur-mien-te Ca-ta-rí /
Nun te scur-dà / ca t’ag-gio da-to ‘o / co-re Ca-ta-rí / nun te-e-e  / scur-dà /

Ca-ta-rí / Ca-ta-rí / ché ve-ne a di-ce-re /
stu par-là / ca me / dà spa-se-me /
Tu / nun’n-ce pien-ze a / stu du-lo-re mi-o /
tu nun’n-ce pien-ze tu / nun te ne cu-u-re /

Co-re / co-o-re ‘n-gra-to /
t’aie pi-glia-to ‘a / vi-i-ta / mi-a /
tut-t’è / pas-sa-to / e nun’n-ce pien-ze / chiù-ù /

[Co-re / co-o-re ‘n-gra-to /
t’aie pi-glia-to ‘a / vi-i-ta / mi-i-a /
tut-t’è / pas-sa-to / e nun’n-ce pien-ze / chiù-ù /]

Co-re / co-o-re ‘n-gra-to /
t’aie pi-glia-to ‘a / vi-i-ta / mi-i-a /
tut-t’è / pas-sa-to / e nun’n-ce pien-ze / chiù-ù!

Core ‘ngrato Phrasing, as sung by Luciano Pavarotti

[Instrumental: Co-re / co-o-re ‘n-gra-to /
t’aie pi-glia-to ‘a / vi-i-ta / mi-i-a /
tut-t’è / pas-sa-a-to / e nun’n-ce pien-ze / chiù-ù-ù-ù /]

Ca-ta-rí / Ca-ta-rí /
pec-ché me di-ci sti pa-ro-le a-ma-re /
pec-ché / me par-le e ‘o co-re / me tur-mien-te Ca-ta-rí /
Nun te scur-dà / ca t’ag-gio da-to ‘o / co-re Ca-ta-rí / nun te / scur-dà /

Ca-ta-rí / Ca-ta-rí / ché ve-ne a di-ce-re /
stu par-là / ca me / dà spa-se-me /
Tu / nun’n-ce pien-ze a / stu du-lo-re mi-o /
tu nun’n-ce pien-ze tu / nun te ne cu-u-re /

Co-re / co-o-re ‘n-gra-a-a-to /
t’aie pi-glia-to ‘a / vi-i-ta / mi-i-a /
tut-t’è / pas-sa-to / e nun’n-ce pien-ze / chiù-ù-ù-ù /

[Co-re / co-o-re ‘n-gra-to /
t’aie pi-glia-to ‘a / vi-i-ta / mi-i-a /
tut-t’è / pas-sa-to / e nun’n-ce pien-ze / chiù-ù-ù-ù /]

Ca-ta-rí / Ca-ta-rí /
tu nun ‘o ssaje / ca fi-no e ‘in-t’a na / chie-sa /
io só’ / tra-su-to e ag-giu / pre-ga-to a Di-o / Ca-ta-rí /
E ll’ag-gio dit-to / pu-re a ‘o cun-fes-so-re stó’ a suf-frí / pe’ chel-la llá /

Stó’ a suf-frí / stó’ a suf-frí / nun se pò cre-de-re /
stó’ a suf-frí / tut-te li stra-zi-e /
E ‘o cun-fes-so-re / ch’è per-zo-na san-ta /
mm’ha dit-to / Fig-liu mi-o / lás-sa-la stá / lás-sa-a-la stá /

Co-re / co-o-re ‘n-gra-a-a-to /
t’aie pi-glia-to ‘a / vi-i-ta / mi-i-a /
tut-t’è / pas-sa-to / e nun’n-ce pien-ze / chiù-ù-ù-ù!

One response to “Core ‘ngrato

  1. As you see I’m also a fan, or a sucker for these songs. I too think di Stefano did this, and many of them probably better than anyone. You probably know the Caruso version, and its change of lyrics, and it is certainly idiomatic from the language point of view.

    I happen to be a “Corelliste” to the core having heard him live over 40x-and he happens to do this very well. (particularly the 71 Tokoyo recital-also does it as an encore at one of those insane Parma performances.) Nobody was better at sheer abandon, and he had a voice of the magnitude to pull it off-I need some garlic and gristle in a song like this!

Leave a Reply

