La Paloma


Ritual Release of White Doves at Wedding

http://www.tudou.com/programs/view/bzw9dqy5qpI/
Sung by Victoria de Los Angeles
The definitive interpretation of La Paloma, no ifs, ands, or buts.

La Paloma / The Dove, in original Spanish, with English translation by “Luna”
Music by Sebastián Iradier
1863

Verse 1. Cuando salí de la Habana ¡Valgame Dios!
When I left Habana, oh my God!
Nadie me ha visto salir, si no fuí yo.
No one saw me leave, it wasn’t me.
Y una linda Guachinanga, s’allá voy yo
And a cute/sweet [Mexican girl], there I go.
Que se vino tras de mi, que sí señor.
Who followed behind me, oh yes sir.

Chorus:
Si a tu ventana llega una paloma.
If at your window a dove arrives.
Tratala con cariño, que es mi persona.
Treat it with affection, for it is me.
Cuentale tus amores, bien de mi vida.
Tell it about your loves, the good in my life.
Coronala de flores, que es cosa mia.
Crown it with flowers, for it’s mine.
Ay! Chinita que sí!
Oh! Little girl yes!
Ay! Que dame tu amor!
Oh! Give me your love!
Ay! Que ven te conmigo, Chinita.
Oh! Come with me, little girl.
Adonde vivo yo!?
To where I live!

Verse 2. El dia nos casemos ¡Valgame Dios!
The day we get married, oh my God!
En la semana que hay ir, me hace reir.
During the week that is, it makes me laugh.
Desde la Iglesia juntitos, que sí señor.
From the church close together, oh yes sir.
Nos hiremos à dormir, Allá voy yo.
We’ll go to sleep (bed), that’s where I’m going.

[Chorus]

Verse 3. Cuando el curita nos eche la bendicion.
When the priest gives us the blessing.
En la iglesia catedral, allá voy yo.
In the cathedral, that’s where I’m going.
Yo te daré la manita, con mucho amor.
I’ll give you my hand, with so much love.
Y el cura dos hisopazos, que sí señor.
And the priest will take two steps, oh yes sir

[Chorus]

Verse 4. Cuando haya pasado tiempo ¡Valgame Dios!
When time has passed, oh my God!
De que estemos casaditos, pues sí señor.
That we’ve been married, well, yes sir.
Lo menos tendremos siete, y que furor!
We’ll have at least seven, oh what a fright!
O quince guachinanguitos, allá voy yo.
Or fifteen little [Mexican children], that’s where I’m going.

[Chorus]

La Paloma Phrasing, as sung by Victoria de Los Angeles
Verse 1 + Chorus + Verse 3 + Chorus

[Instrumental:
Cuan-dooo / sa-lí de / la Ha-ba-na / Val-ga-me Di-oos /
Na-di-eee / me ha vis-to sa-li-ir / Si no fuí yooo /

Dum / da dum da dum / da dum da dum / da dum da dum dum dum / da dum da dum / da dum da dum / da dum da dum / da dum]

Cuan-dooo / sa-lí de la Ha-ba-na / Val-ga-me Di-oos /
Na-di-eee / me ha vis-to sa-li-ir / Si no fuí yooo /
Y u-naaa / lin-da Gua-chi-nan-ga / S’al-lá voy yooo /
Que seee / vi-no tras de mi-i / Que sí se-ñoor /

[Chorus:
Si a tu ven-ta-na lle-ga / U-na Pa-lo-maaa /
Tra-ta-la con ca-ri-ño / Que es mi per-so-o-naaa /
Cuen-ta-la tus a-mo-res / Bien de mi vi-daaa /
Co-ro-na-la de flo-res / Que es co-sa mi-i-a /
Ay / chi-ni-ta que síi /
Ay / que da-me tu a-mor / aah /
Ay / que ven te con-mi-go / Chi-ni-ta /
a-don-de vi-vo yo /
Ay / chi-ni-ta que síi /
Ay / que da-me tu a-mor / aah /
Ay / que ven te con-mi-go / Chi-ni-ta /
a-don-de vi-vo yo /]

[Instrumental:
Dum / da dum da dum / da dum da dum / da dum da dum dum dum / da dum da dum /
Dum / da dum da dum / da dum da dum / da dum da dum dum dum / da dum da dum /
da dum da dum / da dum]

Cuan-dooo el cu-ri-ta nos e-che / La ben-dic-cioon /
En laaa Igle-sia Ca-te-dra-al / S’al-lá voy yooo /
Yo teee da-ré la ma-ni-ta / Con mu-cho a-mooor /
Y el cuuu-ra dos hi-so-pa-a-zos / Que sí se-ñoor /

[Chorus]

[Dum da dum da dum]

Score:
lapaloma
http://artsongcentral.com/2008/yradier-la-paloma/
http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/inharmony/search.do?titleFacet=La+paloma

 

Leave a Reply

