Hey There


Sung by Rosemary Clooney

Doris Day, in The Pajama Game

Hey There
From the Musical “The Pajama Game”
Written by Richard Adler and Jerry Ross
1954

Phrasing, as sung by Rosemary Clooney, gender switched for male singer

Late-ly when I’m in my room / all by my-self /
In the so-li-ta-ry gloom / I talk to my-self /

[Du du du / du du / du du ]

Hey there / you with the stars in your eyes /
Love ne-ver made / a fool of you /
You used to be / too wise /

Hey there / you on that high fly-in’ cloud /
Though she won’t throw a crumb to you /
You think some day / she’ll come to you /

Bet-ter for-get her /
Her with her nose in the air /
She has you dan-cin’ / on a string /
Break it / and she won’t care /

Won’t you take this ad-vice /
I hand you / like a bro-ther /
Or are you not see-in’ things too clear /
Are you too much in love to hear /
Is it all go-in’ in one ear /
And out the o-ther? /

Hey there / you with the stars in your eyes /
– Are you talk-in’ to me?
Love ne-ver made / a fool of you /
– Not un-til now /
You used to be / too wise /
– Yes / I was / once

Will you take this ad-vice /
I hand you / like a bro-ther /
Or am I not see-in’ things too clear /
Are you just too far gone to hear /
Is it all go-in’ in one ear /
And out the o-ther?

//

Leave a Reply

