Zueignung


Sung by Heinrich Schlusnus, German baritone
Accompanied by Richard Strauss on the piano, 1921

Sung by Irmgard Seefried, German soprano

Sung by Jessye Norman, American soprano

Sung by Renee Fleming, American soprano

Zueignung
Music by Richard Strauss
Lyrics by Hermann von Gilm zu Rosenegg

Ja, du weisst es, teure Seele,
Yes, you know, dear soul,
dass ich fern von die mich qua”le,
when I’m far from you you torment me
Liebe macht die Herzen krank,
Love makes the heart sick,
habe Dank!
accept my thanks.

Einst hielt ich, der Freiheit Zecher,
Once I was a free-wheeling carouser
hoch den Amethysten-Becher
who held high the amethyst cup
und du segnetest den Trank,
and you blessed the draught,
habe Dank!
accept my thanks.

Und beschworst darin die Bo”sen,
And I complained about the evils,
bis ich, was ich nie gewesen,
Until I was, as never before,
heilig, heilig, ans Herz dir sank,
hallowed, hallowed, I fell upon your heart,
habe Dank!
accept my thanks.

Alternate English Translation

Ja, du weisst es, teure Seele,
Yes, you know it, dear Soul,
Dass ich fern von dir mich qua”le,
That far from you I pine away
Liebe macht die Herzen krank,
Love makes hearts sick –
Habe Dank.
Have my thanks!

Einst hielt ich, der Freiheit Zecher,
Once in freedom rejoicing,
Hoch den Amethysten-Becher,
I raised high the Amethyst goblet
Und du segnetest den Trank,
And you blessed the draft,
Habe Dank.
Have my thanks!

Und beschworst darin die Bo”sen,
And you exorcised the evil spirits
Bis ich, was ich nie gewesen,
Till I was, as never before,
heilig, heilig an’s Herz dir sank,
holy, holy, I fell upon your heart.
Habe Dank.
Have my thanks!

Zueignung Phrasing

[Instrumental: Da da da, da da da, da da da, da da da]
Ja du weisst es / teu-re See-le /
Dass ich fern / von di-ir mich qua-le /
Lie-be macht / die Her-zen krank /
[Da da da]
Ha-be Dank /
[Da da da]

Einst hielt ich / der Frei-heit Ze-cher /
Hoch den / A-me-thy-y-sten Be-cher /
Und du se-gne-test den Trank /
Ha-be Dank /
[Da da, da da da da da da da]

Und besch-worst da-rin / die Bo-sen /
Bis ich / was ich / ni-ie / ge-we-sen /
Hei-lig! / Hei-lig! / an’s Herz / dir sank /
[Da da da da da da da da da]
Ha-be Dank!

//

Leave a Reply

