By the Light of the Silvery Moon


Sung by Doris Day

Sung by Doris Day and Gordon MacRae

By the Light of the Silvery Moon
Music by Gus Edwards
Lyrics by Edward Madden
1909

Phrasing, as sung by Doris Day

By the light / of the sil-ve-ry moon /
I want to spoon /
To my hon-ey I’ll croon love’s tune /
Hon-ey moon / keep a-shin-in’ in June /
Your sil-v’ry beams / will bring love’s dreams /
We’ll be cud-dl-in’ soon /
By the sil-ve-ry moon /

Place / park / scene / dark /
Sil-v’ry moon is shi-ning through the trees /
Cast / two / me / you /
Sum-mer kis-ses floa-ting on the breeze /
Act / one / be / done /
Di-a-log / where would ya like to spoon? /
My / cue / with / you /
Un-der-neath the sil-v’ry moon /

By the light / of the sil-ve-ry moon /
I wan-na spoon /
To my hon-ey I’ll croon love’s tune /
Hon-ey moon / keep a-shin-in’ in June /
Your sil-v’ry beams / will bring love’s dreams /
We’ll be cud-dl-in’ soon / by the sil-ve-ry moon /

Act / two / Scene / new /
Ro-ses bloom-ing all a-round the place /
Cast / three / You / me /
Prea-cher with a so-lemn-look-ing face /
Choir / sings / bell / rings /
Prea-cher / You are wed for-ev-er more /
Act / two / all / though /
Eve-ry night the same en-core /

By the light / not the dark / but the light /
Of the sil-ve-ry moon / not the sun / but the moon /
I wan-na spoon / not croon / but spoon /
To my honey I’ll croon love’s tune /
Ho-ney-moon / ho-ney moon / ho-ney moon /
Keep a-shi-nin’ in June /
Your sil-v’ry beams / will bring love’s dreams /
We’ll be cud-dl-in’ soon /
By the sil-ve-ry / moon /
The sil-v’ry moon

Score:
https://jscholarship.library.jhu.edu/handle/1774.2/24780

145.108.000.webimage

145.108.001.webimage

145.108.002.webimage

145.108.003.webimage

//

2 responses to “By the Light of the Silvery Moon

  1. Thanks so much for posting the sheet music! I couldnt’ find this anywhere in my voluminous library of music and needed something to make a lead sheet with. Perfect!

Leave a Reply

