Io Son L’Umile Ancella

Sung by Kiri Te Kanawa, New Zealand soprano

Io Son L’Umile Ancella
Music by Francisco Cilea
Libretto by Arturo Colautti

Ecco: respiro appena…
lo son l’umile ancella
del Genio creator:
ei m’offre la favella,
io la diffondo ai cor…
Del verso lo son l’accento,
l’eco del dramma uman,
il fragile strumento
vassallo della man…
Mite, gioconda, atroce,
mi chiamo Fedeltà.
un soffio è la mia voce,
che al novo di morrà…

Lyrics English Translation
From the Ricordi Anthology of Italian Opera:

There: now I can barely breathe…
Ecco: respiro appena…
I am the humble handmaid of the Muse,
lo son l’umile ancella del Genio creator:
who offers me the message
ei m’offre la favella,
that I communicate to other hearts…
io la diffondo ai cor…
Of a poem, I am the interpretation,
Del verso lo son l’accento,
the echo of human drama,
l’eco del dramma uman,
a delicate instrument
il fragile strumento
obedient to another’s hand…
vassallo della man…
Gentle, joyous, horrifying,
Mite, gioconda, atroce,
they call me Faithfulness:
mi chiamo Fedeltà.
my voice is but a breath
un soffio è la mia voce,
that tomorrow is no more.
che al novo di morrà…

Score:

IMSLP155097-SIBLEY1802.17417.b578-39087011232669score

 

Leave a Reply

